My First Night In The Old Small Titanic (Japan Sea)


Tonight I`d sleep in this ferry. My room was a 4-bed standard room (The cheapest one in the ferry I could find). I entered the room. It was just like a room of the hostel where we shared bed to each other. The room was small, and the gap of below and above beds was not high enough to sit in the bed without bowing. There was an old TV inside. I wondered who gonna be my roommates tonight. Just as I was thinking, there came a middle aged man. His name was Keiji. He was so friendly, I thought. He told me that it was his 4th time to sleep in this ferry. He introduced me where was the bathroom, toilet, where to put our valuable things when we go to the bath. It was just like we had known each other long long time ago although I just got to know him last minute. He said that I was his daughter age, but she was not smart like me. I smiled and thought myself. ” Is he admiring me? How can he know I am smart? We just met each other last moment. Or it is a the way he addresses the person he gets to know”. He told me that his daughter graduated and got a job, but because she didn’t like it, she stopped and now she entered a vocational school. I asked him of his daughter age. Surprisingly, he was right. I had the same age like her, but more than this, he and my father also had the same age, and they both got married at the same time. What a coincidence on earth!

” So you go to Busan for traveling?”, he started asking me. “Yes, I will go to Busan and then up to Seoul“, I answered him. “Your first time?” “Yes”, I replied to him. “That’s awesome. I really envy of you. I want to return back to a student like you and travel to abroad”, Keiji said to me. “Now I’m also on holiday”, he continued. “My company frequently has a holiday, and I searched very very cheap ticket here. Can you guess? It is just only 10,000¥(13o$) for return ticket including dinner and breakfast”, he said to me with a happy face. I love this face expression so much. It seemed like 80% of our conversation was his talking, but I really enjoyed this dialog. “But, this ticket is valid only for 2 nights 3days”, he continued. “What? for just only 2 nights 3 days? But we had to spend 2 nights in the ferry already?”, I asked him. ” Yeah, yes,… I can spend for only 3 or 4 hours in Busan, and the rest of the time is sleeping in this ferry.”, he told me. “Is it called a journey?”, I thought myself, but I could see his face answered me this doubt.

He told me that he wanted to go to Taiwan and Singapore. He had been to South Korea for many times, but it seemed like he never went to other countries beyond that. “You are still young, but you have been to many countries. What is your most favorite one?”, he asked me. “I don’t know. The most favorite one? Umm…. maybe Bangkok, Thailand“, I said to him. I didn’t know why I said Bangkok. Maybe that was because it was my first visit abroad, but I really enjoyed my time there so much. I hoped I could find that enjoyment again, but I’m not sure if I can get it although I go to Bangkok again.

“Akashikai Bridge, Akashikai Bridge, we are arriving Akashikai Bridge”, announcer said while we was talking. “Do you want to see it?”, Keiji asked. “Yes, of course”. It was really freezing outside, but I was wearing only one T-shirt and shorts. I kept smiling… while looking at Akashikai Bridge. ” I love this bridge so much. It is my 2nd time to see it.”, I said. Keiji looked at my face, and I continued, ” I went to Kobe 2 years ago with my friends during my summer holiday”. I showed my photo sitting in front of the bridge to him. “You want to take a photo with it again?”, Keiji said to me. “Yes, thanks”, ” I gonna take for you, too”…..

“Ah, it is freezing.” “Yes” “Now I’m so hungry”, Keiji said. “I love eating, you know… look, I bring food with me. You want it?”, he said smiling. ” No, thanks, I’m not hungry”, I replied (In fact, I’m starving much more than him, sign). He still gave me a pack of Senbei(Cookie), so I gave a candy back to him. ” I’m still hungry”, he said again. “But dinner is until 8:00. Now it is just 6:00”, I told him. I just said when suddenly a woman voice announced dinner had already been prepared. That was so fast than schedule . I didn’t know why, but we just didn’t care. You could imagine how we rushed to our dinner. “I gonna eat them all”, Keiji was kidding with me. “Me, too”, I smiled and said.

←Previous                                                                                                      →Next

Categories: My backpack | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “My First Night In The Old Small Titanic (Japan Sea)

  1. Bob W Cain

    You paint a good picture with your words … very good!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

