First Shrine


Japan is different from other countries to count down during New Year. You may find in Sydney or Hong Kong, London, they celebrate new year with thousands of fireworks rising in the dark sky to welcome the coming year, but in Japan, people will go to the shrines or pagodas to count down with the light of candle in hands. We went to visit the first shrine of the year at the middle of the night. We howled the bell for the happiness of the year. I remember that was the coldest night I have felt so far. Smoke came from my mouth, my breathe with enjoyment. We drank Amazake (sweet rice wine) to warm our body. I didn’t like its smell much, but It helped me to stay in the middle of the coldest night. Wish you happy this year!!

New Moon!!

Categories: Activities | Tags: , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “First Shrine

  1. Dear Friend!
    Greetings from Shizuoka, Japan!
    Thank you so much for refering my new blog, http://shizuokatourism.wordpress.com/
    If you want to know more about Shizuoka also check http://shizuokagourmet.com/
    Best regards,
    Robert-Gilles

    • Dear Mr. Robert,

      I’m not far away from Shizuoka, but I don’t have chance to visit there. After seeing your blog, I might decide to go there someday soon. Shizuoka is a beautiful place with sea and green mountain. I also love its onsen. Thank you so much for dropping by. I will be happy to see more information of Shizuoka via your blog.

      Best wishes,
      Chamrong

  2. Sorry I mispelled your name, dear Chamrong!

  3. Wow, I never knew that your culture is different from the others about celebrating New Year! nice post! very informative! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

